Human Resource Services

Home | Jobs@UNI | My Benefits | Forms | About Us
  • My Benefits | UNI Holidays

My Benefits | UNI Holidays

Overview

Employees with non-temporary appointments and at least a half-time schedule are eligible for holiday pay. Holidays for employees with part-time schedules are pro-rated from the full-time equivalent as it relates to the employee's weekly schedule. Employees with less than a 12 month appointment are eligible for holidays falling during periods when work is normally scheduled. Staff members with a temporary, on-call, or seasonal appointment are not entitled to holiday pay. Holidays are to be recorded on the staff member's weekly or monthly timecard.

UNI employees receive eleven (11) holidays per year. Two of these are "personal holidays" and are included in the vacation accrual (exception: Faculty do not accrue vacation).

University Calendar Holidays for 2020

  1. New Year's Day Wednesday, January 1, 2020
  2. Martin Luther King's Birthday Monday, January 20, 2020
  3. Memorial Day Monday, May 25, 2020
  4. Independence Day (observed) Friday, July 3, 2020
  5. Labor Day Monday, September 7, 2020
  6. Thanksgiving Day Thursday, November 26, 2020
  7. Friday after Thanksgiving Friday, November 27, 2020
  8. University Holiday Thursday, December 24, 2020
  9. Christmas Day Friday, December 25, 2020

University Calendar Holidays for 2021

  1. New Year's Day Friday, January 1, 2021
  2. Martin Luther King's Birthday Monday, January 18, 2021
  3. Memorial Day Monday, May 31, 2021
  4. Independence Day (observed) Monday, July 5, 2021
  5. Labor Day Monday, September 6, 2021
  6. Thanksgiving Day Thursday, November 25, 2021
  7. Friday after Thanksgiving Friday, November 26, 2021
  8. Christmas Day (observed) Friday, December 24, 2021
  9. University Holiday Monday, December 27, 2021

University Calendar Holidays for 2022

  1. New Year's Day (observed) Friday, December 31, 2021
  2. Martin Luther King's Birthday Monday, January 17, 2022
  3. Memorial Day Monday, May 30, 2022
  4. Independence Day Monday, July 4, 2022
  5. Labor Day Monday, September 5, 2022
  6. Thanksgiving Day Thursday, November 24, 2022
  7. Friday after Thanksgiving Friday, November 25, 2022
  8. Christmas Day (observed) Monday, December 26, 2022
  9. University Holiday Tuesday, December 27, 2022