Human Resource Services

Home | Jobs@UNI | My Benefits | Forms | About Us
  • Beverly Funk Barnes Staff Excellence Award

Beverly Funk Barnes Staff Excellence Award

A. Purpose

The Beverly Funk Barnes Staff Excellence Award is focused on rewarding university staff who continually create new value for those they work with through dedication, passion, and creativity for the benefit of the University of Northern Iowa (UNI). Based on the principle of "Fred the mailman" from Denver, Colorado, this award focuses on rewarding UNI employees whom embody "The Fred Factor." For more on The Fred Factor, visit these links:

This UNI Foundation award is sponsored by the generous support of Andrea Barnes, who is "excited to acknowledge a staff member going above and beyond for now and in the future."

B. Eligibility

Any currently employed Merit or Professional & Scientific (P&S) staff member with a minimum of five (5) years of service at UNI. Prior recipients are eligible for consideration provided they have demonstrated new examples of award fundamentals.

C. Selection Procedures

To be considered for this award, potential recipients should be nominated by a UNI colleague or UNI student, or self-nominate. Nominations should be submitted by February 23, 2024 using the nomination form.

Nominators should address two of the following award fundamentals:

  • Describe how the nominee makes a difference at UNI.
  • Everything is built on relationships. Provide an example of how the nominee has gone above and beyond by simply interacting with students and/or colleagues to build relationships for the betterment of the UNI family.
  • UNI is often referred to as "doing more with less". Provide an example of how the nominee demonstrated creativity using minimal resources which resulted in a positive outcomes that benefits students or staff and created value at UNI.
  • One of the Fred Principles is based around reinventing one’s self. Provide an example of when the nominee willingly took on a new challenge or task, outside their experience or expertise in an effort to benefit the team.

The award committee consists of faculty and staff members. College Senate Chairs recommend to the Provost & Executive Vice President (Provost) one faculty member from each college (CBA, CSBS, Library and COE) and two from CHAS as representatives. In addition, two Merit staff, two P&S staff and three UNI students will be recommended to the Senior Vice President for Finance & Operations (Senior VP). The contributing award committee representatives from Merit and P&S are selected by the Senior VP or designee. The committee will review all applications and forward a recommendation to the Provost and the Senior VP. The Committee’s recommendation shall remain confidential until the Provost and Senior VP announce the recipients.