down arrowMenu

Human Resource Services

Home | Jobs@UNI | My Benefits | Forms | About Us
  • About Us

About Us

About Human Resource Services

The Office of Human Resources is responsible for organizing, directing and evaluating programs related to the recruitment, development, retention, and retirement of employees while complying with applicable governmental regulations.

UNI Human Resource Services (HRS) is a department within the Finance & Operations. Complementary departments to HRS are Office of Compliance and Equity Management (OCEM) and Payroll.

Our Mission

Human Resource Services fosters an environment of integrity and collaboration through innovative solutions and communications contributing to the successful recruitment, development, and retention of University employees.

Value Statements

  • Integrity – We advocate and demonstrate truthfulness, equity, ethical behavior, and honor our commitments in a culture of mutual respect.
  • Professionalism – We listen objectively and serve as a positive role model in all aspects of our conduct and performance.
  • Relationships – We actively build and maintain respectful partnerships that support the success of the University.
  • Service – We are committed to meeting the needs of the University community while modeling a high level of stewardship.

Human Resource Services Staff

Department Leader
Michelle Byers Director michelle.byers@uni.edu 319-273-2422
Benefits & HRIS Team
Beth Kuehl Team Leader beth.kuehl@uni.edu 319-273-3425
A. Jay Behnke HRIS Specialist ajay.behnke@uni.edu 319-273-2572
Therese Callaghan Employee Health and Well-being Coordinator therese.callaghan@uni.edu 319-273-6164
Miranda Cornish Secretary III (Benefits Specialist) miranda.cornish@uni.edu 319-273-2423
Tammi Dean Clerk IV (HRIS) tammi.dean@uni.edu 319-273-7734
Jesse Lahmann Benefits Coordinator jesse.lahmann@uni.edu 319-273-2423
Chelsi Wickham Retirement Planning Coordinator chelsi.wickham@uni.edu 319-273-2423
Carissa Yauslin Clerk IV (HRIS) carissa.yauslin@uni.edu 319-273-2954
Employment Team
Lisa Frush Team Leader lisa.frush@uni.edu 319-273-6060
Angie Chaplin Faculty Employment Coordinator angie.chaplin@uni.edu 319-273-3536
Jennifer Cole Secretary II (Reception) jennifer.cole@uni.edu 319-273-3419
Melissa Engdahl P&S Employment Coordinator melissa.engdahl@uni.edu 319-273-6300
Tresa Habinck Clerk IV (Merit Employment) tresa.habinck@uni.edu 319-273-2503
Joan Johannes Clerk IV (P&S Employment) joan.johannes@uni.edu 319-273-3424
Scott Klahsen Merit Employment Coordinator scott.klahsen@uni.edu 319-273-6110
Employee Relations Team
Toni Babcock Employee & Labor Relations Coordinator toni.babcock@uni.edu 319-273-2422

Contact Information

Employment and/or Income Verification

The University of Northern Iowa uses The Work Number® to provide automated employment and income verifications.

Access Verification Portal